Agencies

Kamran drops trophy, not a catch

Decrease Font Size Increase Font Size Text Size Print This Page

KARACHI: During sensational final of PSL, a moment came when Zalmi bounced back after grabbing three quick wickets and were in a position to snatch the victory  from  Islamabad United if Kamran Akmal would not have dropped a crucial catch of Asif Ali who attempted an audacious pull shot off Umaid Asif when Islamabad needed 30 off 33 balls with four wickets in hands.

Zalmi’s wicket-keeper, who first failed in batting and then on the field, misjudged the catch and let it through his gloves. After that Asif Ali smashed three consecutive sixes on the trot off Hasan Ali  and made unbeaten 26 off just 6 balls, while Faheem Ashraf hooked Wahab Riaz for six with just one required.

Eventually, Islamabad completed a win with three wickets and 17 balls to spare.

Peshawar Zalmi coach Muhammad Akram also seemed disappointed, saying United would have been in pressure had Kamran Akmal taken the catch.

Speaking in a post-match press conference, Zalmi coach appreciated the team efforts, saying he is proud of the Zalmi team for their hard work in the tournament.

Akmal's performance in the PSL has been a matter of much debate who almost single-handedly took his team to the final with match-winning innings against Karachi Kings and Quetta Gladiators.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *