Hasan heroics trump Gul six-for as Quetta win

Decrease Font Size Increase Font Size Text Size Print This Page


DUBAI: In the 17th fixture of Pakistan Super League (PSL) 2018, two-time finalists Quetta Gladiators defeated table-toppers Multan Sultans by two wickets after a sensational competition at Dubai International Cricket Stadium on Wednesday.

Having been sent into bat, Multan Sultans set a reasonable target of 153 for Quetta Gladiators as in-form captain Shoaib Malik smashed unbeaten 65off 43 balls to lead the gladiators to a good total.

While Quetta’s batsmen contributed their respective share to chase a decent target of 153 for eight wickets and in the last over with one ball to spare, as Hassan Khan sent the ball out of boundary for a six on the second last delivery of the match.

In the last contest of the first phase, Sultans comprehensively had defeated Gladiators by nine wickets.

Umar Gul made a fantastic return by marking his career-best bowling figures in twenty20, taking six wickets for 24 runs. His spell was the second best in the Pakistan Super League (PSL) after Bopara’s 6/16 in 2016.

Having nine pints with four victories out of six matches, Sultans are still top the points table. One match was abandoned due to rain, while, Gladiators completed their third victory out of their six matches.

Later, Sohail Tanvir departed at the score of 41after making a breezy 19 off 15 balls with a six and a four.

Then the hero of the previous match, Sohaib Maqsood and captain Shoaib Malik came to rescue and added 40 runs for the fourth wicket before Sohaib got out for 27.

Later, Ross Whiteley also provided a good support to his skipper with a valuable 16 as both added 38 for the fifth wicket.

However, Shoaib continued to show his batting prowess to steer his side to a respectable total of 152 for three.

He remained not out on 65, scored off 43 balls with three sixes and four boundaries while Kieron Pollard made an unbeaten 15 off just six balls with a six a four.

Sarfraz tried six bowlers, all of them except Hasan Khan got one wicket each for the Gladiators.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *