KI News

Nomination process for Anantnag- Rajouri Lok Sabha seat begins

Decrease Font Size Increase Font Size Text Size Print This Page

Srinagar: The Election Commission of India has issued a notification for the Anantnag-Rajouri Lok Sabha seat, scheduled for polling on May 07, 2024.

With the issuance of the notification, the nomination process for the Anantnag-Rajouri Lok Sabha seat commenced on Friday.

The Anantnag-Rajouri Lok Sabha seat comprises a total of 1,925,450 votes, with approximately 11 lakh votes from South Kashmir and over 8 lakh votes from Rajouri and Poonch districts.

The notification issued by Returning Officer Syed Fakhr-ud-Din Hamid stipulates that nomination papers must be submitted to the Returning Officer (Deputy Commissioner) Anantnag or the Assistant Returning Officer (Assistant Commissioner, Revenue) Anantnag at the Deputy Commissioner’s Office between 11:00 am and 03:00 pm by April 19, 2024.

Nomination papers will undergo scrutiny on April 20, 2024, at 10:00 am, and the deadline for withdrawal of candidature is April 22, 2024, before 03:00 pm. In the event of a contested election, polling will be conducted on May 7, 2024, between 07:00 am and 06:00 pm, officials said.




Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *