Images News Netwok

2nd All India Police Hockey Championship: Punjab Police and BSF advance to finals

Decrease Font Size Increase Font Size Text Size Print This Page

Srinagar: On the ninth day of the championship, the 72nd All India Police Hockey Championship, organized by the Jammu and Kashmir Police at Jammu, witnessed intense semi-final clashes, determining the finalists for the prestigious tournament.

In the first semi-final match, CISF faced off against Punjab Police in a thrilling encounter. The match ended in a goalless draw, leading to a shootout to determine the winner. Punjab Police emerged victorious in the shootout, securing a 3-2 win over CISF. The hero of the match was Paras Malhotra, Jr. No. 01, the goalkeeper of the Punjab Police team, whose stellar performance during the shootout earned him the title of Player of the Match. The chief guest for the match was Ms. Sargun Shukla-IPS, CO IRP-15th BN.

In the second semi-final showdown, BSF locked horns with CRPF in another gripping contest. The match ended in a 1-1 draw before heading into a shootout. BSF emerged triumphant in the shootout, defeating CRPF 4-2. Kanwarpal Singh, Jr. No. 13, from BSF, and Lovejeet Singh, Jr. No. 32, from CRPF, were the goal scorers. Manish Kumar, Jr. No. 22, was declared the Player of the Match for his outstanding performance. The chief guest for this clash was Mahendra Nath Tiwari-IPS, IGP AP/IRP Jammu.

In the women’s category, Odisha Police secured a victory against Tamil Nadu Police in a closely contested match. The match ended in a 1-1 draw, leading to a shootout where Odisha Police emerged victorious. Elin Lakra, Jr. No. 08, and Priyadha Rshini, Jr. No. 28, were the goal scorers for Odisha and Tamil Nadu, respectively. Arti Reshma Toppo, Jr. No. 01, was declared the Player of the Match for her exceptional performance. The chief guest for the match was Rahul Yadav-IAS, Commissioner JMC.

In another women’s match, CRPF defeated SSB with a scoreline of 2-0. Parmila Soreng, Jr. No. 43, and Neha Sharma, Jr. No. 36, were the goal scorers for CRPF. Supriya Mundu, Jr. No. 46, was named the Player of the Match for her outstanding contribution. Sarah Rizvi, DIG IR Jammu, graced the occasion as the chief guest.

Tomorrow’s schedule includes the final match and a hard-line match in the men’s category. In the hard-line match, CISF will clash against CRPF at 0930 Hrs, followed by the highly anticipated final showdown between Punjab Police and BSF at 1345 Hrs. Fans can expect an exhilarating display of hockey prowess as the teams vie for the championship title.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *