Reyaz Rashid

Polling begins for fourth phase of DDC election in Narvaw  Boniyar

Decrease Font Size Increase Font Size Text Size Print This Page

Uri: Amid biting cold, polling began for fourth phase of District Development Council (DDC) election in Narvaw and Boniyar blocks of Baramulla district.

In four polling stations at Kitchama village of Narvaw, a total 261 votes were polled out of 1200 upto 10:00 am.

In four polling station located at veterinary hospital Sheeri village, 267 votes were cast out of 2098 votes.

In the twin DDC constituencies of Baramulla district, there are 72009 registered voters including 31126 voters in Narvaw constituency of Baramulla and 40883 voters in Boniyar constituency in Uri.

According to officials, 216 polling stations have been set up in the two constituencies, including 78 in Narvaw constituency and 84 in Boniyar constituency.

19 candidates are in the fray in both constituencies including 12 candidates from Boniyar and seven woman candidates from Narvaw are testing their electoral fate.

In Boniyar Uri, among the 12 candidates who are contesting the DDC election include NC candidate Mohd Ismail Khan, Congress Syed Showkat Geelani, BJP Mir Mushtaq Nowsheri, Apni party Hamid-ul-Rehman, independent candidate Raja Gh Mohd Khan, Syed Nissar Gillani, Bilal Ahmed Mir, Gh Rasool Budoo and Khurshid Ahmad Mir.

In Narvaw constituency, seven candidates are in the fray: Gupkar Alliance candidate Er. Raza Hussan, Congress candidate Farhana Maqbool, Apni Party Candidates Bisma Nabi Pandit, Advocate Rabiya Khursheed and other two independent candidates.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *