KI News

Delegation from Ladakh meets Governor

Decrease Font Size Increase Font Size Text Size Print This Page

SRINAGAR, SEPTEMBER 17: A delegation from Ladakh led by Thupstan Chhewang, Member Parliament, met Governor Satya Pal Malik at the Raj Bhavan here today. The delegation extended warm greetings to Malik on his appointment as Governor J&K.

The delegation apprised Governor about requirement of additional funds for completion of pending projects and demanded creation of posts of Bodhi and Arabic Teachers in High and Middle Schools of Leh district, bringing EJM college Leh under State Sector, implementation of 7th Pay Commission recommendations for RMSA, SSA and RET teachers, urgent review of functioning of Kashmir University’s satellite Campus at Taru, amendment of Ladakh Autonomous Hill Development Council (LAHDC) Act 1997 as per submission to Ladakh Affairs Department, relaxation in e-tendering process up to Rs 10 lakh for Leh district, relaxation in terms of mandatory usage of Point of Sale Devise for food grain distribution till internet services improves in the region.

The delegation demanded  early release of funds under Pradhan Mantri Krishi Sinchayee Yojana as per proposal submitted to National Executive Committee, construction of cold storage and marketing facilities for Agriculture and Horticulture, construction of Ice Hockey and an Open Stadium and Youth Hostel at Leh, release of funds for restoration of flood damaged infrastructure during 2014-15 and 2016-17, some  issues relating to strengthening of sectors like Tourism, Handloom and Handicraft, Trade and Services and Power Development  etc. and filling up of vacancies in education, health and various Government Departments.

Governor assured due consideration to all the demands projected by the delegation.

The delegation comprised among others Dorjey Motup, CEC, Ladakh Autonomous Hill Development Council, Leh; Chering Dorjey, MLC Leh; Tsering Anddus, Gyal Wangyal, Mumtaz Hussain and T. Sangdup, Executive Councillors, LAHDC, Leh; Jamyang Namgyal, President BJP, Leh; Dr. Skalzang Dorjey, General Secretary Leh and Motup, President ALTO, Leh.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *