Images News Netwok

Div Com Kashmir reviews progress on Special Summary Revision at Anantnag & Kulgam

Decrease Font Size Increase Font Size Text Size Print This Page

ANANTNAG: In order to review the progress achieved under the ongoing Special Summary Revision-2023 of Electoral Rolls in District Anantnag and Kulgam, a meeting was held under the chairmanship of Divisional Commissioner (Div Com) Kashmir, Vijay Kumar Biduri, here at Conference Hall Dak Bungalow Khanabal.

At the outset, the Div Com took a detailed review of the progress achieved in the District under ongoing SSR-2023 and sought details about the number of fresh applications received, as well as the number of claims and objections.

He emphasised upon the concerned Electoral Registration Officers(EROs) and Assistant Electoral Registration Officers(AEROs) to conduct revisions according to the guidelines of ECI as per the notified schedule and expedite the process for achieving targets. He also asked them to ensure the timely disposal of claims and objections.

The Div Com also enjoined upon the concerned EROs and AEROs to complete the revision of the special summary with 100 percent enrolment of eligible voters, including the addition of new voters and deletion of duplicate voters, within the extended date. 

He stressed for organising special outreach programmes for young eligible electors, particularly in educational Institutions of the district, as well as door-to-door campaigns for achieving set targets.

The Div Com further asked the EROs and AEROs to remain proactive to build awareness and activate all their resources for the successful conduct of all SVEEP programmes across all Assembly segments of the District Anantnag and Kulgam with focused attention to ensure 100% registration of all eligible and ensure no elector is left unregistered keeping in view the limited time period to conduct the exercise.

He also emphasised on holding meetings with registered political parties and attaining the target of the EP ratio.

The meeting was apprised that the total number of electors in the draft roll is 649982 with an EP ratio of 51% in 07 ACs with 326051 male and 323941 female electorates. He was further informed that a total of 490 polling stations have been designated in Anantnag district.

Later, the Div Com held a meeting with representatives of Political Parties and discussed their role in registering the eligible voters and weeding out eligible voters. He further said that all polling stations must be within a radius of 2 km with all basic facilities.

DDC Anantnag Syeed Fakhrudin Hamid, DDC Kulgam Dr. Bilal Mohi-ud-din, ADC Anantnag, Electoral Registration Officers (EROs) of Anantnag, Kulgam, Deputy District Election Officers of Anantnag, Kulgam, Assistant Electoral Registration officers (AEROs) of Anantnag, Kulgam, officials from District Election Authority and other concerned were present in the meeting.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *