Press Trust of india

10 states, one UT record 100% voting; overall turnout 99%

Decrease Font Size Increase Font Size Text Size Print This Page

New Delhi: The Election Commission Monday said over 99 percent of the total 4,796 electors cast their votes in the presidential poll, while 10 states and the Union Territory of Puducherry recorded a turnout of 100 percent.

The election was concluded successfully in a free, fair and transparent manner at the Parliament House and at 30 centres within State Legislative Assemblies across the country including in Delhi and Puducherry, the poll panel said in a statement.

“As per reports being received, out of a total of 771 Members of Parliament entitled to vote (05 vacant) and similarly out of total 4025 Members of the Legislative Assemblies entitled to vote (06 vacant and 02 disqualified), over 99 percent cast their votes today,” the statement said.

A 100 percent voting by MLAs was reported from Chhattisgarh, Goa, Gujarat, Himachal Pradesh, Kerala, Karnataka, Madhya Pradesh, Manipur, Sikkim, Tamil Nadu and Puducherry, the statement reads.

Forty-four MPs were permitted to vote at state headquarters, nine MLAs at Parliament House and two MLAs in other states’ headquarters.

The BJP-led NDA had nominated Droupadi Murmu as its candidate, while the joint opposition has fielded Yashwant Sinha for the 16th Presidential election.

Polling was held between 10 am to 5 pm at the 31 locations.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *