Images News Netwok

J&K Police’s water sports event Jash-ne-Dal concludes

Decrease Font Size Increase Font Size Text Size Print This Page

Srinagar: As a part of Azadi Ka Amrut Mahotsav, Jammu and Kashmir Police’s mega sports event Jash-ne-Dal concluded today with the overwhelming participation of water sports athletes.

The Chief Secretary J&K, Arun Kumar Mehta, who was the Chief Guest at the closing ceremony distributed cash prizes and trophies among the winners.

GP J&K, Dilbag Singh, Spl DGP Crime J&K, A. K Chaudhary, ADGsP S. J. M. Gillani, Dr. S. D. Singh Jamwal, M. K Sinha, Sunil Kumar, Danesh Rana, Principal Secretary, Housing and Urban Development, Dheeraj Gupta, IGsP Garib Dass, Alok Kumar, Mayor Srinagar Junaid Azim Mattoo, water sports athletes, Commandants of Kashmir Based Battalions and large number of spectators was present at the closing ceremony.

The DGP J&K while speaking on the occasion extended his gratitude to Chief Secretary J&K Arun Kumar Mehta for gracing the event and thanked all senior officers of Police, CRPF, Civil administration, Water Sports J&K, participant athletes, and spectators for attending the closing ceremony. He congratulated the ADGP Armed J&K and his team for organizing this successful mega event. He congratulated the winners and appreciated the overwhelming participation of water sport athletes in the event. He said that it was this year’s third big event organized by Jammu and Kashmir and added that more events are being organized in future also.

He said the Jammu and Kashmir police have been regularly organizing sports events as an effort to engage our youth in positive activities. The DGP said that enemies of peace are time and again making attempts to cause damage to the peaceful atmosphere here and added that strict action will be taken against such elements. He said that people are very happy with the efforts of police, security forces and civil administration for peace and tranquility in Jammu and Kashmir.

Earlier, ADGP Armed J&K, S. J. M. Gillani while speaking on the occasion extended his warm welcome to the dignitaries said that the event was first organized by Jammu and Kashmir Police in 1999 and now is considered as a prestigious event in J&K and added that a number of international and national level athletes took part in the event. He also congratulated all the winner teams/ athletes and wished them good luck for the future.

First conducted in 1999, the Jashn-E-Dal is an annual mega event of Water Sports organized by J&K Police under its Civic Action Programme. This year around 560 participants including Men/Women, Boys & Girls participated in 26 categories under 16 disciplines. On the first day of the event, Kayak & Canoe (200/500) Mtrs for men/women, boys and girls were held. Sporting activities like Indoor rowing for men/women, Long Distance Swimming for men/Boys, Short Distance Swimming for Men/Women/Boys, 4×50 Mtrs FreeStyle Relay was held on the 2nd day. On the third and final day of the event, besides the closing ceremony, sports activities like Water Ski, Shikara Race/Demb/Boat/Kayak/Canoe were held.

On the closing ceremony, Individual medals, Certificates and cash prizes amounting around 3.5 lakh have been distributed among the winners including Shikara owners.

The athletes who achieved first three positions in swimming (100 Mtrs. Men) are Yawar Abbas, Suhial Dar and Irfan Ahmad respectively and in swimming 5o mtrs men category, Yawar Abbas, Saif Illahi and Ifran Ahmad achieved first three positions respectively. In Swimming 50 mtrs junior category Mohd Abbas, Ashiq Hussain and Anis Bhat achieved first three positions respectively and in Swimming 100 Mtrs Junior Boy category, Mohad Abass, Ashiq Hussain and Mehfuz Ahmad achieved first three positions in Swimming 50 Mtrs in Sub Junior category, Villayat Hussain, Ahsan Ali and Mohd Yaseen achieved first three positions in Demb Baot Race 500 Mtrs. Men. In Long Distance Swimming (Men) Waseem Raja, Khalid Majeed and Yawar Hussain achieved first three positions respectively. In Shikara Race Waseem Raja, Parvaiz and Mohd Altaf achieved first three positions respectively.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *