Images News Netwok

J&K admin nominates nodal officers for assistance of Delimitation Commission

Decrease Font Size Increase Font Size Text Size Print This Page

Srinagar: The Jammu and Kashmir administration on Saturday nominated nodal officers with the Delimitation Commission at the district level for providing timely information to it and receiving representations from stakeholders.

In an order issued by the General Administration Department (GAD), one officer has been nominated in each of the 20 districts of the union territory for liaisoning with the commission, which wrapped its four-day visit to Jammu and Kashmir on Friday during which it interacted with political parties and district administrations.

The GAD order said, Ghulam Hassan Sheikh, ADC Anantnag has been nominated as the nodal officer for Anantnag district. Likewise, the nodal officers for the respective districts are: Parvaiz Rahim, ACR Bandipora; Rafiq Ahmad Lone, ACR Baramulla; Akramulla Tak, ADC Budgam; Mohammad Idrees Lone, Deputy District Election Officer, Doda; Farooq Ahmad Baba, ADC Ganderbal;, Satish Kumar, ADC Jammu; Sandeep Seiontra, ACR Kathua; Sham Lal, ADC Kishtwar; Showkat Ahmad Rather, ADC Kulgam; Shabir Ahmad Wani, Assistant Commissioner Panchayat Kupwara; Abdul Sattar, ADC Poonch; Nowshad Ahmad Rather, District Statistical and Evaluation Officer Pulwama; Sachin Dev Singh, ADC Rajouri; Harbans Lal, ADC Ramban; Sanjay Kumar Badyal, ACR Reasi; Rajeev Magotra, Deputy District Election Officer Samba; Rizwan Asgar, Assistant Commissioner Panchayat Shopian; S Sandeep Singh Bali, Assistant Commissioner Nazool Srinagar, and Shavi, Deputy District Election Officer Udhampur.

The order said the nodal officers shall be responsible for assisting the deputy commissioners in providing timely information as may be sought by the commission.

The nodal officers shall receive representations from stakeholders for submission to the commission and shall also be responsible for any other work as may be assigned by the commission, the order read.

On Friday, the Delimitation Commission headed by Justice (retd) Ranjana Prakash Desai concluded the four-day visit to J-K to gather “first-hand” inputs on the conduct of the exercise to redraw constituencies and carve out new ones in the UT.

Except for the Peoples Democratic Party and the Awami National Conference, the commission interacted with all political parties and officials concerned during the visit.

Justice (retd) Desai has assured the exercise would be transparent and completed by following due process as laid down in the law.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *