Images News Netwok

Two top cops promoted to DGP rank

Decrease Font Size Increase Font Size Text Size Print This Page

Srinagar: Two top IPS officers were today promoted to the rank of director general of police, official sources said.

Jammu & Kashmir’s intelligence chief, RR Swain, and another senior IPS officer, A K Choudhary have been promoted to DGP rank with effect from 01 January, 2021, an order issued by Ministry of Home Affairs said today.

Swain, who is ADGP, Criminal Investigation Department (CID), has held key positions in Jammu & Kashmir including district police chief of both Srinagar and Jammu districts.

He also served as DIG of the State Vigilance Organisation, now known as the Anti-Corruption Bureau (ACB).

He returned from central deputation last year and was posted as ADGP CID.

The other IPS officer who was promoted is A.K. Choudhary (ADGP, Armed Police).

With this order, the number of DGP rank officers of J&K cadre which was merged with AGMUT has gone to eight, of which three are on central deputation.

The officers with DGP rank are Navin Aggarwal (central deputation), V.K. Singh (DGP, Prisons), SM Sahai (central deputation), Dilbagh Singh (DGP, J&K Police), Laltendu Mohanti (central deputation) and Dr. B. Srinivas (Commandant General, HG/CD & SDRF).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *