Images News Netwok


Decrease Font Size Increase Font Size Text Size Print This Page


Gulmarg: The Junior and Sub-Junior Ski and Snowboarding Championship concluded here at Gulmarg on Sunday, a press release issued here Winter Games Association of Jammu and Kashmir (WGAJK) said.

The press release said that after holding Districts and Regional Championships, WGAJK conducted the Junior UT Championship at Gulmarg from 28th Jan. to 30th Jan which saw nearly 400 boys and girls of different age categories taking part in. Deputy Commandant HAWS, Brig Rajeev Kumar, was the Chief Guest on the Closing Function, who distributed the medals among the winners, while Javed-ul-Rehman, Asstt Director Tourism was Guest of honour.

AbbasWani, President WGAJK thanked HAWS and Tourism Deptt for providing the logistic support and also expressed his gratitude to J&KSports Council for sponsoring all these activities. Wani expressed his anguish towards J&K Cable Car Corporation for not extending their support. The Corporation observed silence when they were requested to operate the gondola one hour early and give other facilities, he said requesting the Govt to look into the matter.

In his speech Kumar assured his full support to the association in its future endeavors and expressed his joy for holding Championships among young athletes at all levels. He appreciated WGAJK for hosting the upcoming Junior National Ski and Snowboarding Championship followed by extra vaganza 2nd Khelo India National Winter Games.

Muhammad Yusuf, General Secretary, WGAJK informed that those who performed exceptionally well in the UT championship are selected for Junior National Championship to be held from 6th Feb. “For this purpose WGAJK is holding a short Coaching camp for junior categories soon. The Senior UT championship will be held soon after completion of Junior Nationals,” he added.

The press release, while giving details said that in the Alpine ski- Slalom (boys under 21 yrs) Ayan Zargar, Sheikh SajidRazas, ShakeelChouhan were adjudged as 1st, 2nd and 3rd respectively while as in Slalom (girls) Haya Muzaffar, Syeda Asfah, Muskaan Lateef were declared as 1st, 2nd, and 3rd.

In Giant Slalom AyanZargar, Zamin Rashid, ShakeelChouhan, ShakeelChouhan were declared as 1st, 2nd, and 3rd while among girls for the same competition Haya Muzaffar, Syedah Asfah Muskaan Lateef held first three positions respectively.

In Slalom (boys under 18) Shoib Rashid, AzharFayaz and Tafeem Rauf won the first three positions respectively while as Malaika Gul Dev, Sarah Ayjaz and Aiman Malik in the girls category in the same competition were adjudged as first three winners respectively.

In Giant Slalom (boys under 16) Faizan Ahmad Lone, Syed Zain and Huzaif Manzoor won the first three positions respectively while as Ridah Altaf, Jaza Ahmad, Warda among girls were adjudged as first three winners.

In Giant Slalom (under 14 catagory) Musadiq Mushataq, Danish Mehmood and Mohd Essa Anim won in the boys category and Ayza Noor, Haziqa Farooq and Muzaina Tahir were adjudged as first three winners in girls category.

In snowboarding Slalom and Giant Slalom Tajamal Dar, Naveed Ahmad Malik and Waseem Ahmad Lone won the first three positions while as Tajamal Dar, Waseem Ahmad Lone and Asif Shabir won in Giant Slalom competiton.





Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *