KI Web Desk

Pakistan announce Test squad for South Africa series

Decrease Font Size Increase Font Size Text Size Print This Page

KARACHI: Chief Selector Mohammad Wasim has announced Pakistan squad for the upcoming Test series against South Africa.

The players who were picked for the series include, Babar Azam (Captain), Mohammad Rizwan, Abid Ali, Imran Butt, Azhar Ali, Fawad Alam, Sarfaraz Ahmed, Faheem Ashraf, Yasir, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Abdullah Shafiq, Agha Salman, Saud Shakeel, Kamran Ghulam, Sajid Khan, Tabish Khan, Haris Rauf, M Nawaz, Nauman Ali and Hasan Ali.

Mohammad Wasim said Shan Masood, Mohammad Abbas and Haris Sohail have been dropped from the squad adding that Shadab Khan and Naseem Shah were also not selected due to fitness issues.

Pakistan and South Africa will play a series of two Test matches and three Twenty20 Internationals. The first Test will be played in Karachi from January 26.

In an earlier statement, Mohammad Wasim said that Pakistan will not take it easy with South Africa and the team will feature a good combination of players for success in the series.

He said that consultations have been held with the selection committee, head coach Misbah-ul-Haq, and captain Babar Azam.

Wasim will announce first a 20-member Test squad and later the 16-member team.

He said that a home series provides an advantage to the hosts but the guests are capable of giving a tough time. “We will try our best not to repeat the mistakes which we committed on the tour of New Zealand,” he said.

This will be the first team selection by Mohammad Wasim who took charge of this difficult post in November after Misbah-ul-Haq’s role was restricted as head coach of the Pakistan cricket team.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *