KI News

J&K losing representation in Rajya Sabha

Decrease Font Size Increase Font Size Text Size Print This Page

Azad, Mir, Laway, Shamsher to complete term next month

Srinagar: As Jammu & Kashmir’s four sitting Rajya Sabha members are set to complete their term next month, the Union Territory would remain without representation in the House in absence of the Legislative Assembly.

While Fayaz Ahmad Mir (PDP) and Shamsher Singh Manhas (BJP) would complete their term on February 10, Ghulam Nabi Azad (Congress) and Nazir Ahmad Laway (expelled PDP leader) would hang up their boots on February 15.

Azad, former Chief Minister of J&K, is the leader of the opposition in Rajya Sabha.

While Mir, Singh and Laway were elected as members of the House due to tacit understanding between PDP and BJP before they joined hands to form government in erstwhile state of J&K, Azad managed to win after getting support from National Conference and Independents.

Jammu & Kashmir would remain without representation in Rajya Sabha until Assembly elections are held.

“The electoral college for these four Rajya Sabha seats comprises of MLAs of J&K UT Assembly. Since there are no MLAs presently in J&K, these seats would remain vacant. These seats can be filled only after Assembly elections,” an official told KNO.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *