Images News Netwok

Uphold the mandate of people: Sajad Lone tells DDC members

Decrease Font Size Increase Font Size Text Size Print This Page

Urges them to deliver in fair, transparent and effective manner

Srinagar: J&K Peoples Conference chairman Sajad Gani Lone Monday convened a meeting of the senior leadership and newly elected DDC members of the party and urged them to uphold the mandate of the people.

Asserting that this constitution of District Development Councils marks a new chapter in grassroots democracy, Lone said the newly elected DDC members should be aware of the expectations of the people.

“People have been away from political governance for more than two years. The DDC members are the first democratically elected and politically empowered representative of the people and they should go back to people with promises of deliverance. I expect them to deliver for the people of J&K in a fair, transparent and effective manner,” he added.

According to a party press release, Lone stressed that the need of the hour is to go on and use latest tools and technologies to ensure that the rural areas become islands of brilliance and the lives of the inhabitants of these rural areas are made better.

“These are challenging circumstances both politically and administratively. There was a lot of administrative slack even when we were in the government and that slack is still there. The other big challenge is to be able to navigate the challenges which will be faced by the entry of politically elected people into the arena of governance after the administration has had a free run for more than two years now,” he added

Lone hoped that an optimal blend is achieved in terms of the political representatives and the bureaucracy working together with the unanimous objective of bettering the lives of the people of J&K.

“I wish the elected DDC members all the best and hope all of us can jointly contribute to better the lives of the people and make J&K a promising and prosperous place to live in,” he concluded.

The meeting was attended by PC general secretary Imran Ansari, senior vice-president Abdul Gani Vakil, Abid Ansari, Bashir Ahmed Dar, district president Kupwara Hafeezullah Mir, district president Baramulla Asif Lone and spokesperson Adnan Ashraf Mir. Among the elected DDC members Irfan Panditpori, Habibulla Beigh, Mohammad Sulaiman Mir, Sonullah Parray, Adv Masarat, Adv Ulfat, Parmeet Kaur, Najma Begum and Ali Mohammad were present at the meeting, party press release said.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *