Images News Netwok

DDC members administered oath across UT

Decrease Font Size Increase Font Size Text Size Print This Page

Election for chairperson, vice-chairperson of DDCs to be held in next two weeks

Apni Party DDC elected member from Kunzar, Nazir Ahmad Shiekh takes oath at Baramulla. Photo/Riyaz Rashid

Srinagar: The elected members of District Development Councils (DDC) were administered oath across all the districts of Jammu and Kashmir, Monday.

DDC members representing their respective constituencies swore in the name of God and pledged to bear true faith and allegiance to the constitution of India and also uphold the sovereignty of India, read an official handout.

In Srinagar, District Development Commissioner (DDC), Dr Shahid Iqbal Choudhary, administered oath to the recently elected members of DDC of Srinagar.

Talking to media on the occasion, Choudhary said that with the completion of the oath ceremony of DDC members, the process to implement three-tier Panchayati Raj Act has been fully implemented.

He said that DDC members will be imparted necessary training about the rules and regulations besides they will be made aware about the powers delegated to them under the Constitution.

The District Development Commissioner (DDC) Budgam, Shahbaz Ahmad Mirza administered oath to newly elected 14 DDC members representing 14 Block constituencies of Budgam during a function organized at Sheikh Ul Alam Hall in the town.

Similarly Deputy Commissioner Ganderbal, Shafqat Iqbal administered oath to 14 newly elected DDC members during a swearing-in ceremony at Mini Secretariat in the main town.

The Deputy Commissioner Pulwama, Dr Raghav Langer administered oath to the elected DDC members at DC office. Deputy Commissioner Anantnag, K.K.Sidha administered oath to DDC members at Town Hall Anantnag.

The Deputy Commissioner Baramulla Dr. G. N. Itoo administered oath to DDC members at Dak Bungalow while District Panchayat Election Officer (DPEO) Bandipora, Dr Owais Ahmad administered oath the newly elected 13 members of DDDC at Conference Hall Mini Secretariat there.

The Deputy Commissioner Kupwara, Anshul Garg administered oath to 13 newly elected DDC members at Town Hall there, and the Deputy Commissioner (DC) Shopian, Choudhary Mohammad Yasin, administered oath to DDC members at District Administrative Complex there.

Deputy Commissioner Kulgam, Showkat Aijaz Bhat administered oath to the elected DDC members representing at Conference Hall Mini-Secretariat there.

All the DDC members in the entire Union Territory were administered oath of office. However, some members missed the occasion due to health and varied reasons.

Meanwhile, the election for chairperson and vice-chairperson of District Development Councils (DDCs) will be held in next 20 days.

According to Jammu & Kashmir Panchayati Raj Rules, the election for chairperson and vice-chairperson of DDCs shall not be held later than 20 days after administering of oath to members.

“As soon as possible but not later than twenty days after oath or affirmation of allegiance under sub-rule(1) is administered or made, the deputy commissioner concerned shall call under his/her presidentship a meeting of all elected members to elect one of its members to be the chairperson and another member to be the vice-chairperson,” the rules state.

The election for chairpersons and vice-chairpersons can be delayed only due to natural calamities and severe law and order situations.

But in these cases, elections shall be held not later than one month from declaration of result of election of the elected members of the DDCs.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *