KI News

Rauf Tramboo elected President of IHAJK

Decrease Font Size Increase Font Size Text Size Print This Page

Ashraf Dijoo continues as General Secretary

Srinagar: The Ice Hockey Association of Jammu and Kashmir (IHAJK) has elected its new governing body.

The meeting was initially presided over by an eminent winter sports athlete Hafeeza Hassan. The adventure sports personality and avid winter sports enthusiast and former Member J&K Sports Council, Rauf Tramboo was elected as President while as, Mohammad Ashraf Dijoo was re-elected as General Secretary and Sarabjit Singh as Treasurer.

The members present in the meeting expressed their full confidence in the newly elected body.

Meanwhile, Rauf Tramboo welcomed the newly elected office bearers, and assured them that the new team of office bearers will work hard to develop Ice Hockey in the entire Union Territory. He said that Ice Hockey has tremendous scope here as we have good roller hockey players, who just need the transfer of training on ice. Rauf informed the meeting that the association is determined and ready to take active part in 2nd Khelo India Winter Games to be held in February this year besides its domestic activities. He expressed his full support to WGAJK to make the endeavour a grand success. Rauf also expressed his gratitude to Kirren Rijiju for his support to popularise winter games in India, particularly in Kashmir.

General Secretary Ashraf Dijoo informed that IHAJK has been active in the erstwhile state for a long time and has fielded its teams in various prestigious events in the past, the recent being first-ever Khelo India Winter Games held in March 2020 at Gulmarg. He further informed that then Association conducted many roller hockey training programs in Srinagar. Later the association discussed many other issues related to the promotion and development of Ice Hockey in the Union Territory.

The meeting also chalked out its annual sports calendar for winter 2021.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *