Images News Netwok

Independents win 7 seats in Srinagar DDC

Decrease Font Size Increase Font Size Text Size Print This Page

Srinagar: Independent candidates won from seven District Development Council (DDC) constituencies in Srinagar, said the District Election Officer (Deputy Commissioner) Srinagar, Dr Shahid Iqbal Choudhary.

He said the results of all 14 DDC constituencies have been declared.

The Returning Officers in Srinagar have declared the results of District Development Council elections in all the 14 constituencies and handed over election certificates to winning candidates. The results of 4 SMC ward constituencies were declared earlier, said a statement issued by the DEO Srinagar.

As per the final results, the seven DDC seats bagged by independents include Harwan-I, Harwan-II, Harwan-IV, Harwan-VI, Qamarwari-I, Qamarwari-II and Srinagar-I.

According to the details, Shaista Aslam, an Independent candidate won Harwan-I while as in Harwan-II, Ali Mohammad Rather was declared winner. In Harwan-IV, Rizwana Bano won while Harwan-VI was won by Mohammad Shaban Chopan.

Qamarwari-I, Qamarwari-II and Srinagar-I were bagged by Independent candidates including Jameela Begum, Mohammad Yaseen Rather and Bilal Ahmad Bhat respectively.

National Conference (NC) candidate, Kaisar Ahmad Ganie emerged victorious from Harwan-III constituency while Jammu Kashmir Apni Party (JKAP) candidates including Shabir Ahmad Reshi emerged victorious from Harwan-V, Malik Aftab from Srinagar-III.

PDP, BJP and Jammu Kashmir Peoples Movement (JKPM) wrested one seat each. BJP candidate Aijaz Hussain Rather won Khanmoh-II while PDP candidate Manzoor Ahmad Bhat and JKPM candidate Afroza Banu also won their respective seats

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *