KI News

SEC allots common symbols to JKAP

Decrease Font Size Increase Font Size Text Size Print This Page

Srinagar: Jammu & Kashmir State Election Commission on Wednesday allotted common symbols to Altaf Bukhari-led J&K Apni Party and Lal Singh-headed Dogra Swabhiman Sangathan Party (DSSP) for the upcoming District Development Council (DDC) polls.

According to an order issued by the State Election Commission, J&K Apni Party (JKAP), which is unrecognized registered party, has been allotted “bat” as common symbol for the polls.

Similarly, the Dogra Swabhiman Sangathan Party (DSSP) has been allotted “Tractor Chalta Kissan” as symbol for all phases except the first phase of DDC polls.

As per the order issued by the SEC, these unrecognized registered parties will get common symbols in DDC polls.

It is worthwhile to mention here that JKAP was formed after the abrogation of Article 370 by Central government.

Lal Singh had floated his own political party in 2019 after he was forced to resign as minister in Mehbooba Mufti-led PDP-BJP coalition government for addressing a rally in solidarity with the culprits involved in the brutal rape and murder of an eight-year-old girl in Kathua. (KNO)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *