Press Trust of india

Centre releases Rs 6,195 cr to 14 states 

Decrease Font Size Increase Font Size Text Size Print This Page

New Delhi:  The Centre has released Rs 6,195 crore to 14 states as monthly installment of post devolution revenue deficit grant.

“Based on the 15th Finance Commission interim recommendations, the Govt has released Rs 6,195.08 crore to 14 states on account of the eighth equated monthly installment of Post Devolution Revenue Deficit Grant,” Office of Finance Minister Nirmala Sitharaman tweeted on Tuesday.

The 14 states are Andhra Pradesh, Assam, Himachal Pradesh, Kerala, Manipur, Meghalaya, Mizoram, Nagaland, Punjab, Sikkim, Tamil Nadu, Tripura, Uttarakhand and West Bengal.

A similar amount was released as grant in April-October period of the current financial year.

The Finance Commission provides a mechanism for the Centre to compensate for revenue loss incurred by states, which is referred to as post devolution revenue deficit grant.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *