KI News

KK Sharma to represent J&K in delimitation panel

Decrease Font Size Increase Font Size Text Size Print This Page

Srinagar: Jammu & Kashmir’s State Election Commissioner, Kewal Kumar Sharma would replace Hirdesh Kumar as member of the delimitation commission constituted by the Central government earlier this year for Assembly and Parliamentary segments of J&K Union Territory, sources disclosed.

Sources in the government said that Sharma would now be part of the three-member delimitation commission headed by former Supreme Court Judge Justice (Retd) Ranjana Prakash Desai.

The Election Commissioner Sushil Kumar Chandra is other member of the panel.

Constituted in March this year, the panel is mandated to fix boundaries of 90 Assembly segments of J&K and reserve seats for schedule castes and scheduled tribes within them.

It has also been empowered to undertake delimitation of five parliamentary segments of J&K UT.

The Commission has been constituted under J&K Reorganization Act,2019 and Delimitation Commission Act, 2002.

Sharma, who was an advisor to J&K LG, resigned last week and was appointed as first full-fledged SEC.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *