Rashid Paul

Update compliance regarding unauthorized occupants within 2 weeks: HC tells Estates Deptt

Decrease Font Size Increase Font Size Text Size Print This Page

Srinagar: Two week’s further time was granted by J&K High Court today to the administration to update compliance besides furnishing details of former ministers, legislators, political persons and retired IAS Officers unauthorizedly residing in ministerial bungalows and other accommodations of the Estates Department.

“Two week’s further time is granted to respondents to update the compliance and furnish the details of former Ministers/former, MLAs/Retired, IAS Officers / MLCs / Political persons, who are still unauthorizedly residing in Ministerial Bungalows as well as A, B and C-Type accommodation of the Estates Department, both at Jammu as well as at Srinagar”, ordered Justice A M Magray.

“The respondents shall also file details about recovery, outstanding from the authorized and unauthorized occupants”, he directed.

Meanwhile, the Estates Department informed the court that the matter has been taken up with the Home Department and information thereof is awaited.

It also informed that three more former state Assembly members including ex speaker Mubarak Gull and legislators Ashok Khajuria and Ravinder Sharma, have been evicted recently from the public premises occupied by them.

The court in September had granted 10 days time to Senior Additional Advocate General to update the status/compliance, on the Affidavit of the Principal Secretary/ Secretary to Government of Jammu and Kashmir, Estates Department, as regards the directions passed by the Court qua eviction of such former ministers, MLAs, retired IAS officers, MLCs and political persons unauthorizedly living in the official residences.

The process of sending eviction notices to the unauthorized occupants was initiated last month by the J&K Estates Department, the court was informed.

According to reports majority of these illegal occupants in Jammu belong to Bhartiya Janta Party. They included former cabinet ministers, MLAs, MLCs and various party office bearers.

According to a government order under number 169- GAD of 2004, permissible period for retention of the official residential accommodation is one month since the completion of term as legislator or MP and two month in case of death of the allotted person.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *