KI News

16 Pulwama villages in red zone; dozens declared buffer zones

Decrease Font Size Increase Font Size Text Size Print This Page

PULWAMA, APRIL 29:  As two  new positive  cases of  COVID-19 surfaced in the district, the authorities in Pulwama today declared Rohmoo, Gusso and Frasipora villages of Tehsil Rajpora and Reshipora, Chirat, Monviji, Banderpora Chirat, Wandakpora, Kakapora  Town of Tehsil Kakapora red zones including Mirgund, Zaigam, Mitirigam, Chewa Kalan,Wahibugh, Tujan and Thokerpora as buffer  Zones in Tehsil Rajpora while Galbugh, Lelhar, Hajibal, Ratnipora of Tehsil Kakapora  and Goripora from Awantipora Tehsil  as buffer zones. These precautionary measures were taken as two persons from Rahmoo and Reshipora villages were detected positive for COVID-19.

Meanwhile, a  portion of IGC Lassipora falling within a radius of 300 Meters from Al Noor CA store situated in Tehsil Litter has also been declared Red zone while Lassipora, Armpora, Tantraypora, Petipora and remaining portion of the IGC Lassipora Estate were declared Buffer zones for containing the spread of Covid-19 Infection in the area.

Invoking prohibitory orders under Epidemic Diseases Act 1897, Section 144 of the CrPC and Disaster Management Act, 2005, District Authorities said that there would be no inward and outward movement of any person from the villages declared as Red zone and the people shall stay indoors to ensure complete lockdown. Authorities also warned of stern action against violators as per provision of relevant Acts.

The order was issued in view of the COVID-19 two positive cases from Rahmoo and Reshipora, who have visited few places prior  to moving   to their  native villages ,due to which several pockets in the district   have  become vulnerable as far as transmission of the COVID-19 virus is concerned.

Authorities added that door to door survey has been started by village surveillance and containment committees and all the contacts are being traced and quarantined accordingly.

The Authorities said that it becomes imperative to take stringent precautionary measures including declaring village as Red zone and surrounding villages as a buffer zone to break transmission of the disease in the area.

District Authorities directed the officials concerned to ensure supply of essential commodities as per laid down protocols in the villages falling in Red Zones and Buffer Zones.

Earlier seven villages which include Khaigam, Sangerwani, Abhama of Tehsil Rajpora and Gudoora, Chandgam, Pinglena and Parigam of Tehsil Pulwama were declared Red Zones and are under restrictions. The people have been advised to abide by the orders as any violation will invoke section 269 IPC (unlawfully or negligently doing something which is likely to spread infection of any dangerous disease to life), section 270 IPC (malignant act likely to spread infection of dangerous disease to life), section 271 IPC (knowingly disobeying any quarantine rule) and section 188 IPC (for disobeying the Government orders).

To ensure coordination joint control rooms, with dedicated nodal officers have been established and people from Red zone areas have been asked to contact   24*7 COVID Control Room (01933240412, 01933240912) for COVID-19 queries and emergencies.

Moreover People hailing from the Red zone villages have been asked to contact round the clock (24*7) District Emergency Control room in case of any grievance regarding the essential services and other related issues on Landline No 01933- 240354.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *