Narendra Modi to take oath as PM on May 30 at Rashtrapati Bhavan

Decrease Font Size Increase Font Size Text Size Print This Page

New Delhi, May 26: Narendra Modi will take oath as Prime Minister on May 30 at 7 pm at Rashtrapati Bhavan. President Ram Nath Kovind will administer the oath of office and secrecy to the PM and other members of the Union Council of Ministers.

The President will administer the oath of office and secrecy to the Prime Minister and other members of the Union Council of Ministers at 7 pm on May 30, 2019, at Rashrapati Bhavan, a communique from the Rashtrapati Bhavan said.

After dissolving the 16th Lok Sabha on the recommendation of the Union Cabinet, President Kovind had Saturday evening appointed Modi as the Prime Minister. The President had requested Modi to suggest a date for the swearing-in and submit the names of the members of the Union Council of Ministers.

Last night, Modi met President Kovind to stake claim to form the government after he was elected as the leader of the BJP Parliamentary Party. An NDA delegation led by BJP president Amit Shah also met President Kovind and handed over letters of support from NDA constituent parties.

Modi is the first non-Congress Prime Minister to return to power after a full five-year term. The NDA together has a strength of 353 MPs in the 543-member Lok Sabha out of which the BJP has a majority of 303 Members of Parliament.

Several global leaders, including Pakistan Prime Minister Imran Khan, US President Donald Trump, Chinese President Xi Jinping and Russian President Vladimir Putin have congratulated Modi on his resounding victory.

Names of the ministers who would join Modi in his second innings is yet to be disclosed. It was also not immediately clear whether the ceremony will be attended by some world leaders.

In 2014, Modi had stunned everyone during his swearing-in when he had called SAARC leaders, including the then Prime Minister of Pakistan Nawaz Sharif. The 2014 swearing-in was held at the forecourt of Rashtrapati Bhavan with around 2,000 people including foreign dignitaries invited for Modi’s oath ceremony, which was administered by the then President Pranab Mukherjee.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *