Images News Netwok

18.02 % voter turnout recorded in 5th Phase for Anantnag, Ladakh PCs: Shailendra

Decrease Font Size Increase Font Size Text Size Print This Page

J&K records overall poll percentage of 44.51

Photo/ Kashmir Images

SRINAGAR, MAY 06:  By and large peaceful voting marked the fifth phase of polling for Anantnag and Ladakh Parliamentary constituencies (PCs) in Kashmir and Ladakh divisions of the State.

An overall turnout of 18.02 percent was recorded in Pulwama and Shopian districts of Anantnag Parliamentary Constituency and Kargil and Leh districts of Ladakh Parliamentary Constituency, Chief Electoral Officer (CEO) J&K, Shailendra Kumar informed in a press conference here today.

The CEO informed that in today’s voting Pampore assembly segment recorded the highest polling of 5.26 percent while as lowest percentage of 0.76 was recorded in Pulwama segment of Anantnag Parliamentary Constituency. He said that for smooth polling 695 polling stations were set up across Pulwama and Shopian districts, out of which 20 were Model Polling Stations and two were All Women Polling Stations.

Similarly for Ladakh PC, 559 Polling stations were established including 21 Model Polling Stations and 57 All Women Polling Stations.

Divulging the details of the voter turnout in Pulwama and Shopian districts, the CEO informed that the total number of votes polled was 14,6,76. With the completion of the today’s phase, the overall poll percentage of Anantnag constituency has touched 8.76 percent. Similarly in Ladakh PC, the overall poll percentage has touched 63.70 per cent.

With the completion of all five phases of polling today the total percentage of voting in various parliamentary constituencies in the state including Baramulla, Jammu, Srinagar, Udhampur, Anantnag and Ladakh was recorded at 44.51%.

It may be recalled that over 5.22 lakh electors were scheduled to exercise their franchise in Pulwama and Shopian districts of south Kashmir, in the third leg of three-phased schedule for Anantnag Parliamentary Constituency.  The number of registered voters in Leh and Kargil districts of Ladakh Parliamentary Constituency was 1,73,7,09.

The CEO complimented voters, political parties, contesting candidates, media, polling staff and security forces for smooth and peaceful conduct of polling under all the five Phases in the state.

It may be recalled that eighteen candidates including Hasnain Masoodi (NC), Sofi Yousuf (BJP), Ghulam Ahmad Mir (INC), Mehbooba Mufti (PDP), Nisar Ahmad Wani (NPP), Choudhary Zaffar Ali (PC), Sanjay Kumar Dhar (Manav Adhikar Party), Surinder Singh (Pragatisheel Samajwadi Party (Lohia)) and Imtiyaz Ahmad Rather, Ridwana  Sanam, Riyaz Ahmad Bhat, Zubair Masoodi, Shams Khwaja, Ali Mohammad Wani, Gh Mohammad Wani, Kyasir Ahmed Sheikh, Manzoor Ahmad Khan and Mirza Sajad Hussain Beigh, all independents, are in the fray for Anantnag Parliamentary constituency

Similarly for Ladakh Parliamentary Constituency  four candidates including Rigzin Spalbar (INC), Jamyang Tsering Namgyal (BJP), Asgar Ali Karbalai and Sajjad Hussain, both independents are contesting the elections.

Congress alleges bogus voting, seeks re-polling in some booths

Jammu, May 6: The Congress has sought re-polling in several booths in Shopian and Pulwama districts of the Anantnag parliamentary constituency, alleging that the NC and the PDP indulged in bogus voting in many areas.

In a statement, the Jammu and Kashmir Pradesh Congress Committee president Ghulam Ahmad Mir, who is the party candidate for Anantnag Lok Sabha constituency, alleged bogus voting in some booths under Pampore and Rajpora Assembly segments.

The matter has been reported to the Returning Officer for immediate necessary action, he said.

“National Conference candidate Hasnain Masoodi and his son Yawar Masoodi picked up a fight with a Congress leader, snatched his mobile, and did not allow him to enter a polling booth,” he alleged.

He also alleged “booth-capturing” by PDP workers in some places.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *