Images News Netwok

Over 13 lakh electors to vote in Bla LS constituency

Decrease Font Size Increase Font Size Text Size Print This Page

1749 polling stations established across 1387 locations

Jammu, Apr 03: Over 13 lakh electors will exercise the right to vote to elect their representative from Baramulla parliamentary constituency which is going to polls on April 11 – the first phase of the 2019-General Elections.

The Baramulla Lok Sabha constituency is spread over 15 Assembly segments of three districts of Kupwara, Baramulla and Bandipore in north Kashmir.

For smooth conduct of elections, the election authorities have established 1749 polling stations at 1387 locations. Of the total 13,08,541 electors, 6,74,417 are males, 6,34,083 females and 41 transgender. The constituency has 7953 persons with disability (PwD) voters and 157 marked as VVIP (Voter Verification and Information Programme) electors.

The district Kupwara has 4,38,285 electors including, 2,25,259 males, 2,13,016 females and 10 transgender. These include 1896 PwD and 19 VVIP marked voters, who will cast their votes at 578 polling stations set up at 484 locations.

Similarly, Baramulla district has 6,36,459  electors including  3,27,933 males, 308512 females, 14   transgenders,  3484 PwD and 116 VVIP marked electors. As many as 859 polling stations have been established at 692 locations.

Likewise,  Bandipora district has 2,33,797 electors – 1,21,225  males, 1,12,555 females, 17 transgenders,  2573 PwD  and 22 VVIP marked electors. The authorities have set up 312 polling stations at 211 locations in the district.

The Assembly segments of the parliamentary constituency are Karnah, Kupwara, Lolab, Handwara, Langate in district Kupwara; Uri, Rafiabad, Sopore, Sangrama, Baramulla, Gulmarg and Pattan in Baramulla district and Gurez, Bandipora and Sonawari in Bandipora district.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *