Images News Netwok

Mehbooba, Mir, Masoodi, Zaffar Ali file nominations from Anantnag seat

Decrease Font Size Increase Font Size Text Size Print This Page

Srinagar, Apr 03: Peoples Democratic Party president Mehbooba Mufti, State Congress president Ghulam Ahmad Mir and National Conference candidate Justice (retd.) Hasnain Masoodi Wednesday filed nomination papers from Anantnag Lok Sabha constituency.

BJP candidate for the south Kashmir seat Sofi Mohammad Yousuf has already filed his nomination papers. Two independent candidates have also filed their nominations since the Election Commission issued notification for the third phase of polls on March 28.

“PDP candidate Mehbooba Mufti , Congress’s Ghulam Ahmad Mir, NC candidate Justice (retd.) Hasnain Masoodi and Ch. Zaffar Ali of People’s Conference filed their nomination papers in the office of the returning officer for Anantnag Lok Sabha constituency today,” an Election department official said.

The last date for filing of nominations was today (April 04), while scrutiny of nominations will be held on April 05. The last date for withdrawal of candidature is April 08.

Voting for Anantnag Lok Sabha seat, spread over four south Kashmir districts including Kulgam, Pulwama and Shopian, will be held on 23 April (for Anantnag district), 29 April (for Kulgam district) and 6 May (for Pulwama and Shopian districts).

The counting of votes will be taken up on May 23.

Others who filed their nomination today are Mirza Sajad Hussain Beigh of Janata Dal United, Sanjay Kumar Dhar of Manav Adhikar Party and Shamas Khwaja, Imtiyaz Ahmad Rather, Ghulam Mohammad Wani, Riyaz Ahmad Bhat — all independents.

The number of nominations filed for the constituency so far has reached to 16.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *