Images News Netwok

Saurabh Bhagat reviews implementation of pension scheme for unorganized workers

Decrease Font Size Increase Font Size Text Size Print This Page

JAMMU, MARCH 20: Commissioner Secretary, Labour and Employment, Saurabh Bhagat chaired a meeting to take a review of the recently launched, Pradhan Mantri Shram Yogi Maan-Dhan, a Pension Scheme for unorganized workers here today.

It was informed that the unorganized workers in the J&K State are spread over a good number of occupations and are working with different departments. The scheme which was launched by the Prime Minister on 05th of March, 2019 across   the country has received a great response from Jammu and Kashmir.

Already 37557 unorganized workers have registered themselves for the scheme, even as the unorganised workers in the state are working with different departments under different schemes like MG-NREGA workers, ASHA workers, Mid-day meal workers, Anganwadi workers etc.

The Commissioner Secretary directed the representatives of these departments present in the meeting to sensitize the workers about eligibility criteria under the scheme. He asked the departments to   facilitate the registration so that not a single eligible unorganized worker is left out. It was also decided in the meeting that the CEO Secretary Workers Welfare Board shall ensure the bulk transfer of data of eligible BOC workers, already registered with them to state coordinator CSC by the end of this month.

The state coordinator common service centre J&K State was directed to share the details of available common service centres to all the departments dealing with unorganized workers. These departments were also directed to conduct the awareness camps and outreach programmes for the unorganized workers so that the scheme is made a success.

The meeting was attended by Director Employment J&K, Labour commissioner, J&K, Chief Executive Officer Workers Welfare Board besides the representatives of departments like Rural Development, Industries and Commerce Department, Horticulture, Agriculture, Tourism, Transport and other such departments.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *