Images News Netwok

Committee on Ladakh Division visits Kargil

Decrease Font Size Increase Font Size Text Size Print This Page

Holds meeting with LAHDC, representatives of religious, political organizations

KARGIL FEBRUARY 23: In order to examine and report on the periodicity of the Divisional Commissioner’s and IG’s sitting at Kargil and Leh and decide other necessary measures for operationalisation of Ladakh Division, the committee for Ladakh constituted by State Administrative Council (SAC) under the chairmanship of Principal Secretary Planning & Development Rohit Kansal reached here today and held a meeting with the LAHDC, Kargil led by Feroz Ahmad Khan at Conference Hall Baroo.

The meeting was attended by the Executive Councillor for Works Nassir Hussain Munshi, Executive Councillor for Health Zakir Hussain, Executive  Councillor for Social Welfare Aga Syed Mujtaba Mosavi, Executive Councillor for Zanskar Affairs Er Punchoq Tashi, Commissioner/Secretary Revenue Shahid Anayatullah, Commissioner/Secretary Ladakh Affairs Rigzen Samphel, Divisional Commissioner Ladakh Saugat Biswas, Secretary Department of Rural Development & PR Sheetal Nanda, Director General Budget Finance Mohammad Yaqoob Itoo, Deputy Commissioner and Chief Executive Officer Kargil Baseer-ul-Haq Choudhary , outgoing Deputy Commissioner Vikas Kundal, SP Kargil  Dr Vinod Kumar and Councillors of the LAHDC, Kargil.

During the course of the meeting, the committee discussed with the LAHDC members issues pertaining to the identification of posts of divisional level heads of various departments for the newly created Ladakh Division, their equitable location at Kargil and Leh, roles and responsibilities and staffing patterns besides other related issues.

The CEC presented a memorandum before the committee.

Chairman of the Committee Rohit Kansal thanked the LAHDC, Kargil, religious, political organizations and the general public of Kargil for having extended the committee a warm welcome and appreciated them for the decent and democratic demand for grant of headquarters on a rotational basis in both Leh and Kargil.

The Principal Secretary assured that overall actual requirements of the departments, as well as the needs and aspirations of people, will be taken into account by the committee while submitting the recommendations to the State Government. He said that the mandate of the committee is to work towards a fair, just and equitable development of both Leh and Kargil districts and it is fully committed to achieve this goal. He said the committee is open to hold more discussions and deliberations with the representatives of both districts if need may arise.

Meanwhile, the Committee also held a meeting with the representatives of the religious, political and social organizations of the district. The delegation led by President Islamia School (ISK) Kargil Sheikh Nazir ul Muhammadi and Vice President Religious Affairs Imam Khomeini Memorial Trust (IKMT), Kargil Sheikh Bashir Shakir expressed thankfulness to the Governor’s Administration on behalf of the people of Kargil for having granted the Divisonal Status to Ladakh with its headquarters at Kargil and Leh. They urged the committee for equitable distribution of directorates between the two districts and holding of joint meetings of the two LAHDCs before they submit their report to the Government.

Later, the Committee also held a meeting with the District Officers and took first hand information about the powers and exercise of major departments in terms of developmental schemes under District and State sector as well as Centrally Sponsored Schemes, their fund flow mechanism and related issues.

The Committee also took review about the procedural issues and administrative problems pertaining to various departments in the district.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *