Images News Netwok

PDP gets another jolt

Decrease Font Size Increase Font Size Text Size Print This Page

Three time MLA and former minister resigns

Srinagar: Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) today got another jolt as its three time MLA from Chadura assembly constituency and former minister Javed Mustafa Mir decided to quit the party.

After Maulana Imran Ansari, Abid Ansari, Haseeb Drabu and Basharat Bukhari, Mir is the fifth former MLA to desert PDP.

Though Mir has not yet formally submitted his resignation but sources close to him said that he has decided to quit and will be sending his resignation to PDP president, Mehbooba Mufti tomorrow.

Son of veteran political leader Mustafa Mir, who was killed by militants in 1990’s, Javed Mustafa Mir contested from Chadura assembly constituency in 2002 as PDP candidate and won the election.

He continued his winning spree in 2008 and 2014 assembly elections.

Regarding his future plans, sources close to him said that he may be making a formal announcement in coming days.

Following the fall of PDP-BJP government, PDP has been witnessing its MLAs and leaders deserting it at intervals. Besides five MLAs, several senior leaders including Raja Aijaz, Mehboob Iqbal, Runiyal and Peer Mohammad Hussain have quit the party so for.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *