Images Monitoring Desk

Cong snatches three states from BJP

Decrease Font Size Increase Font Size Text Size Print This Page

Loses Mizoram, down in Telangana

New Delhi: The Congress Tuesday was set to wrest Rajasthan from the BJP after its candidates were declared elected on nearly 100 seats and were leading on two others out of the 199 that went to the polls.

As the Congress hovered around this 100-seat mark – putting together the victories and the official trends – Chief Minister VasundharaRaje submitted her resignation to Governor Kalyan Singh.

The ruling BJP bagged 73 seats, BahujanSamaj Party won six, Bhartiya Tribal Party won two, the RashtriyaLoktantrik Party three, the CPI(M) two and the RashtriyaLok Dal one.

Independents won 12 seats and were leading on one more as the focus in Rajasthan shifted on who would be the Congress choice for chief minister between two-time CM Ashok Gehlot and the party’s state unit president Sachin Pilot.

With three winners yet to be declared, the Congress vote share was 39.3 per cent, half percentage point ahead of the BJP.

The newly elected Congress legislators will meet Wednesday morning to discuss this.The All India Congress Committee has sent K C Venugopal as observer.

“The Congress Legislature Party (CLP) meeting will be held at 11 am on Wednesday, in which the elected MLAs of the party will pass a resolution. The observer will seek individual opinions of the MLAs,” AICC general secretary AvinashPande said here.

Rahul says…

“I was telling my mother that the absolute best thing for me was the 2014 election. I learnt a lot from that election. I learnt that the most important thing is humility.

“Frankly, NarendraModi taught me the lesson – what not to do. “PM Modi was handed a huge opportunity. It is a sad thing that he refused to listen to the heartbeat of the country. The arrogance came in.”

He said Congress president Rahul Gandhi will then be briefed and a second meeting of the CLP held in the evening.

In a show of unity, both Gehlot and Pilot – along with other leaders – appeared before the media, flashing the victory sign.

Rajasthan has a 200-member assembly but polling on Alwar’sRamgarh constituency was postponed following the death of the BahujanSamaj Party candidate.

In 2013, the BJP won 163 seats and the Congress 21.

And in MP, Congress is slightly nearing the magic figure of 116 with 114 leads, when reports came in.

In Chaatisgargh Congress has already trounced BJP by bagging 67 seats against BJP’s 16.

But in Telangama, Congress couldn’t break the magic of TRS which won with huge margin pocketing 95 seats and finished with just five seats in Mizoram where MNF got 26.

However, BJP had the worst performance. In Mizoram it got just one; in Telengana, one; in Chaatisgarh 15; in MP it was leading on 109 when last reports came in and; and in Rajasthan it just got 73 out of 199 seats.

Modi says…

New Delhi: Prime Minister NarendraModi congratulated the Congress for its victory in assembly polls Tuesday and said the BJP, which has suffered reverses in the elections, accepts people’s mandate with humility.

In a tweet, Modi also congratulated Telangana Chief Minister K C Rao for his party’s landslide win in the state and Mizo National Front (MNF) for its victory in Mizoram.

In another tweet, he said, “Congratulations to the Congress for their victories. Congratulations to KCR Garu for the thumping win in Telangana and to the Mizo National Front (MNF) for their impressive victory in Mizoram.”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *