EC announces dates for Assembly polls in five states

Decrease Font Size Increase Font Size Text Size Print This Page

New Delhi, Oct 6:  The Election Commission (EC) on Saturday announced the dates for the Rajasthan, Madhya Pradesh, Chhattisgarh, Telangana and Mizoram Assembly polls.

While Chhattisgarh will go to the polls in two phases on November 12 and 20, the Madhya Pradesh and Mizoram Assembly elections will be held on November 28.

Polling in Rajasthan and Telangana will be held on December 7, announced Chief Election Commissioner (CEC) OP Rawat.

Counting of votes will be held across all the five states on December 11, he said.

EC delayed press meet for announcing poll dates for Modi’s speech: Cong

Kolkata, Oct 6 : The Congress Saturday said it seems that the EC delayed its scheduled press conference to announce poll dates for four states on account of Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s speech at a public rally in Rajasthan.

The Election Commission (EC) is set to announce Saturday afternoon the poll schedules for Madhya Pradesh, Mizoram, Rajasthan and Chhattisgarh.

Congress chief spokesperson Randeep Singh Surjewala said, “The EC was supposed to hold a press conference at 12.30 pm to announce polls in four states. But, it was postponed to 3 pm.”

The apparent reason could be to “facilitate Modi to deliver his speech at a rally at 1 pm in Rajasthan”, he said at the India Today East Conclave here.

Surjewala said the people are under attack by their own government and the economy was in doldrums with the rupee sliding everyday.

On who will be the prime minister after the 2019 Lok Sabha polls, he said “the people will decide”.

“But, it will be a people’s government and not be at war with the people,” the Congress leader said.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *