Abid Hussain

Among 72 wards of Budgam, polling to be held only in 1 ward

Decrease Font Size Increase Font Size Text Size Print This Page

Budgam: In a first of its kind, central Kashmir's Budgam district would see no rivalry between candidates fighting forthcoming municipal elections, either no candidate has filed nominations or nominees have won the elections unopposed.

Budgam district has a total of 72 wards and is divided into six municipal committees. Among 72 wards, polling would be held only in one ward, while 26 wards find no candidate and 45 wards were won by the candidates without any contest, sources told Kashmir Images.

Contest would only be seen in Budgam municipal committee’s ward 5- Bazar Mohalla, where fight is between Congress and Bharatiya Janata Party candidates.

Elections to Budgam, Chadoora and Khansahib municipalities are scheduled in the first phase on October 8, while polling for Charar-i-Sharief, Beerwah and Magam is scheduled in the second phase on October 10.

It is pertinent to mention that Khansahib municipality has seven wards, whereas other five municipalities of the district have 13 wards each.

In Budgam, nine candidates have won unopposed, while two are in a fray for the post of Councillor and three wards  remained vacant. Earlier, four candidates withdrew their candidature here.

Eight candidates in Chadoora have been elected uncontested, while five wards did not see any candidate. Earlier, sources said that two candidates withdrew their nominations.

Seven candidates in Khansahib and 13 in Charar-i-Sharief have won without any contest.

In Beerwah municipality, there are no candidates for 12 wards, while the only ward that has a candidate, has won the elections unopposed.

Sources told Kashmir Images that seven candidates have been elected uncontested in Magam, while six candidates withdrew nominations, leaving six wards vacant.

 ULB elections: Govt announces holiday in poll-bound areas

Srinagar, Oct 06: In connection with the Municipal Elections-2018, beginning October 08, the government has declared public holiday in the poll-bound areas.

“Public holiday shall be observed within the limits of the respective Municipal Corporations/Councils/Committees on account of Municipal Elections-2018, on the date of polls under the Negotiable Instrument Act-1881,” said an order issued by the General Administration Department (GAD).

It said the holiday on account of polls to the Municipal Elections-2018 shall be observed only in the areas where the polling is to be held.

According to the order special casual leave shall be granted to the employees who have to go to other areas for exercising their right to franchise, for which they will demonstrate proof of voting on return.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *