Today: Jun 25, 2024

Imran Khan elected 22nd Prime Minister of Pakistan

1 min read

ISLAMABAD: Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) Chairman Imran Khan has been elected the 22nd Prime Minister of Pakistan.

Speaker National Assembly Asad Qaisar announced the name of the Leader of the House after vote count.

Imran Khan secured 176 votes while Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) candidate Shehbaz Sharif bagged 96 votes in the polling for the Leader of the House in National Assembly on Friday.

PTI lawmakers and its allies chanted slogans “Prime Minister Imran Khan, Prime Minister Imran Khan’ as soon as the Speaker announced the results.

Pakistan People’s Party, who was part of joint opposition showing reservations on the candidature of Shehbaz Sharif, abstained from voting process.

Khan will take oath as Prime Minister on Saturday August 18.

Search in Archive