ICC reject PCB’s plea to include Ajmal

Decrease Font Size Increase Font Size Text Size Print This Page

KARACHI: The International Cricket Council (ICC) has said that Saeed Ajmal will not be included in the ICC Test Cricketer of the Year shortlist.

“The ICC has no authority to change the results of the academy,” an ICC spokesman was quoted as saying by ESPNcricinfo. “The voting results are final and binding on everyone.”

The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) had lodged an official protest with the ICC against Ajmal’s inclusion. The 34-year-old’s name did not feature among the four nominees, despite being the leading wicket-taker in Tests in the period under consideration.

South Africa’s Hashim Amla and Vernon Philander, Sri Lanka’s Kumar Sangakkara and Australia’s Michael Clarke all made the list.

The ICC holds the annual awards ceremony to recognise the best players and umpire in international cricket.

The names are chosen by a 30-member jury comprising of former players, officials and journalists. This year’s ceremony will be held in Colombo on September 15.

Ajmal took 72 wickets in the 12 month period, including 24 in Pakistan’s 3-0 rout of then world number one Test team England earlier this year.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *