Images News Netwok

Rebel MLAs skip PDP’s raising day function

Decrease Font Size Increase Font Size Text Size Print This Page

Srinagar, Jul 28: Even as the PDP had brought its leaders and senior functionaries to the party’s 19th raising day function to send out a message – “all is well”- but the seven rebel legislators, who have publicly revolved against the party leadership, remained away.

While the seven rebel legislators — five MLAs and two MLCs — led by influential Shia leader Imran Raza Ansari stayed away from the party function as expected, former Finance minister and MLA from Rajpora Haseeb Drabu also was not present.

Drabu, who was unceremoniously sacked from the cabinet by Mehbooba Mufti in March this year for saying that Kashmir was not a political issue, is in Mumbai attending to “his business which is not political in nature”, sources close to the MLA said.

Drabu had taken to Twitter last week to drop hints that he was not part of the rebel group.

“In news reports I read myself being referred to as a ‘disgruntled MLA’. Wonder why? I neither have, nor have I expressed, any personal cavil. For the member of a Legislative Assembly which is in suspended animation the appropriate descriptor could be ‘disinterested’!” he said in a tweet.

Soon after the BJP ended its coalition with the PDP in Jammu and Kashmir, it was MLA Zadibal Abid Ansari who led a revolt against Mehbooba’s leadership, accusing her of nepotism.

He was joined by his nephew and MLA Pattan Imran Ansari, whose assertions were seconded by MLA Gulmarg Mohammad Abbas Wani. MLA Baramulla Javaid Baig, MLA Noorabad Abdul Majid Padder, MLC Yasir Reshi and MLC Saifuddin Bhat, soon followed the suit.

Interestingly, in today’s function, the three PDP MLAs from Jammu region — Chaudhary Zulfikar Ali, Shah Mohammad Tantray and Qamar Shah — were also not present, but a senior PDP leader said they were busy preparing for a similar event to be held in Jammu on Monday.

“The office bearers and legislators, including the three MLAs from Jammu region, are busy preparing for the party function scheduled to be held on Monday. The party president will preside over it,” party general secretary Ved Mahajan was quoted as saying by PTI.

Those who attended the foundation day function here today included Lok Sabha member Muzaffar Hussain Baig, Rajya Sabha members Fayaz Mir, Nazir Ahmad Laway, MLAs Abdul Rahman Veeri, Ghulam Nabi Lone, Abdul Haq Khan, Syed Basharat Bukhari, Javaid Mustafa Mir, Mohammad Ashraf Mir, Mohammad Khalil Bandh, Asiya Naqash, Syed Faroooq Andrabi, Zahoor Ahmad Mir, Raja Manzoor, Mushtaq Ahmad Shah, Mohammad Yawar Mir, Noor Mohammad Sheikh, Aijaz Ahmad Mir, Mohammad Yusuf Bhat, Abdul Rahim Rather and Altaf Bukhari.

Senior PDP leader and MLC Naeem Akhtar, Sartaj Madni, Dilawar Mir, Peerzada Mansoor Hussain Sohrwadhy and Nizam ud din Bhat were also present.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *