KI News

Chief Secretary chairs SLSMC meeting on Housing for All (Urban) Mission

Decrease Font Size Increase Font Size Text Size Print This Page

20 new DPRs covering 3434 beneficiaries under BLC, 1008 dwelling units under AHP approved

SRINAGAR, JULY 19: Chief Secretary, B V R Subrahmanyam Thursday chaired a meeting of the State Level Sanctioning and Monitoring Committee (SLSMC) for implementing ‘Housing for All’ (HFA) Urban Mission in Jammu and Kashmir under the Pradhan Mantri Awas Yojana (PMAY).

‘Housing for All’ Urban Mission is being implemented in all 78 Towns and the two capital cities of Srinagar and Jammu in two phases. The Programme has four components viz Beneficiary Led House Construction (BLC), Affordable Housing in Partnership (AHP), Credit Linked Subsidy Scheme (CLSS) and In-Situ Slum Re-Development.

In Phase-I of PMAY, 23 Towns and two capital cities of Srinagar and Jammu and in Phase-II, remaining 55 Cities/Towns have been approved for receiving central assistance by the Union Ministry of Housing & Urban Affairs, GoI.

The Committee was informed that a total of 66277 beneficiaries have been identified/verified/validated in the state under PMAY-HFA (U) including 4583 under Slum Re-development component, 24,523 under Credit Linked Subsidy, 13100 under Affordable Housing in Partnership and 24071 under Beneficiary led Construction with an overall financial involvement of Rs 4024.81 Crore.

Under the BLC component, in which financial assistance of Rs 1.66 Lakh is provided to individual families belonging to Economically Weaker Section (EWS), till date, 90 DPRs involving 14036 beneficiaries have been sanctioned by the Union Ministry.

The SLSMC today approved 20 more DPRs, prepared for 8 cities/towns of Kashmir Division and 6 cities/towns of Jammu division covering 3434 EWS families.

Of the 24071 beneficiaries of Phase-I Towns/Cities that have been validated under BLC component, DPRs of 14036 beneficiaries have already been approved. While 233 dwelling units have been completed, construction in close to 2500 dwelling is at various stages of completion.

Chief Secretary asked the J&K Housing Board to gear up its official machinery in coordination with Municipal Commissioners of Jammu/Srinagar and Directorates of Urban Local Bodies and reach out to the beneficiaries within one month to ensure that work on maximum number of dwelling units gets started. He asked J&K Housing Board to finalize the DPRs of remaining 6600 dwelling units by 15th of September, 2018.

The SLSMC approved construction of 1008 dwelling units under Affordable Housing Partnership (AHP) Component, being implemented by Jammu and Srinagar Development Authorities and J&K Housing Board. The Committee accorded approval to the Housing Demand Survey and Housing for All Plan of Action (HFAPoA) of 55 selected cities / towns of Phase-II covering 15168 beneficiaries.

Chief Secretary impressed upon the officers to redouble their efforts to achieve the target of providing dwelling units to identified EWS families as per time lines.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *