KI News

Cable operators asked to stop airing ‘prohibited channels’ in Kashmir

Decrease Font Size Increase Font Size Text Size Print This Page

Srinagar, Jul 18: The Jammu and Kashmir government has ordered cable operators to immediately shut the telecast and transmitting the prohibited satellite channels in the Valley for “maintaining peace and tranquility”.

An order issued by the Additional District Commissioner (ADC), Srinagar, dated July 12, and was sent to all cable operators in Srinagar.

The order accused the cable operators of “telecasting and transmitting unpermitted and banned private satellite channels within the jurisdiction of Srinagar district.”

“J&K government, home department, vide Ps/home/2018-60 dated July 2, 2018, has reported that you are telecasting and transmitting unpermitted and banned private satellite channels within Srinagar,” read the order.

“It has become necessary and expedient in the larger interest of public and maintenance of peace and tranquility to prohibit (you) from transmitting non-permitted TV channels (which are not permitted by the Union ministry of information and broadcasting).”

The order also said now, therefore, in exercise of powers conferred by section 19 of Cable Television Networks (Regulation) Act 1995 “you are hereby directed to immediately stop telecasting/transmitting non-permitted TV channels/banned private satellite channels within three days.”

The cable operators also have been asked to furnish the notarised affidavit before the ADC Srinagar. In case the cable operators fail to submit the affidavit, the order reads “action under the provision of CTN (regulation) Act 1995 will be taken against you”.

The channels which are learnt to have been barred are: Peace TV (Urdu and English), ARY QTV, Madni Channel, Noor TV, Hadi TV, Paigam, Hidayat, Saudi Al-Sunnah Al-Nabawiyah, Saudi-Al-Quran Al-Karim, Sehar, Karbala TV, Ahli-biat TV, Message TV, Hum TV, ARY Digital Asia, Hum Sitaray, ARY Zindagi, PTV Sports, ARY Musik, TV One, ARY Masala, ARY Zauq, A TV, Geo News, ARY News Asia, Abb Takk News, Waseb TV, 92 News, Duniya News, Samna News, Geo Tez, Express News and ARY News.

In May last year, the government had asked all the deputy commissioners of the state to take action against the transmission of 34 non-permitted TV channels, including Pakistani and Saudi Arabian channels, saying they had the potential to incite violence and create law and order situations in the Valley.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *