Press Trust of india

The BJP-PDP govt in JK: A timeline

Decrease Font Size Increase Font Size Text Size Print This Page

Srinagar, Jun 19: A timeline of political developments in Jammu and Kashmir since assembly elections in 2014 and the PDP-BJP alliance assuming power.

* December, 28, 2014: Results of assembly polls declared, verdict hung. PDP gets 28 seats, BJP 25, NC 15 and Congress 12 in the 87-member assembly.

* December 28: Governor’s rule imposed in JK.

* PDP and BJP hold talks for an alliance. Consultations take two months for finalising common minimum programme – the Agenda of Alliance.

* March 01, 2015: Mufti Mohammad Sayeed sworn in as the chief minister of Jammu and Kashmir for the second time. Governor’s rule ends.

* January 07, 2016: Mufti Mohammad Sayeed dies of illness at AIIMS, New Delhi.

* January 08, 2016: Governor’s rule imposed again as PDP-BJP fail to come to an arrangement for continuing the alliance.

* PDP expresses reservations on the implementation of the ‘Agenda of Alliance’, shows reluctance to lead the government. Governor’s rule continues.

* March 22: Mehbooba Mufti meets Prime Minister Narendra Modi in New Delhi. After the meeting, announces she is satisfied with the assurances from the Centre.

* April 04: Mehbooba Mufti takes oath as the first woman chief minister of the state. Governor’s rule ends.

* April 05: Crisis erupts in National Institute of Technology (NIT) Srinagar where local students clash with non-local students following a cricket match between India and Pakistan.

* July 08: Hizbul Mujahideen ‘commander’ Burhan Wani killed in an encounter with government forces in Kokernag area of south Kashmir’s Anantnag district.

PDP-BJP differ over the killing of Wani as it leads to violent protests resulting in the death of over 85 people.

* May 09, 2018: Mehbooba Mufti calls all-party meeting in the wake of rise in civilian killings during clashes near encounter sites.

After the meeting, the chief minister calls for a Ramazan ceasefire on the pattern of one announced during the tenure of the then Prime Minister A B Vajpayee in 2003.

BJP leader and deputy chief minister Kavinder Gupta opposes the idea.

* May 17: Union Home Minister Rajnath Singh announces month-long suspension of operations in Jammu and Kashmir.

* June 17: Rajnath Singh announces Centre’s decision not to extend the unilateral ceasefire, saying counter-militancy operations will resume in the valley in the wake of increase in militancy related incidents during the ceasefire period.

* June 18: All BJP ministers summoned to Delhi by the party high command.

* June 19: BJP pulls out of its coalition government with the PDP. Chief Minister Mehbooba Mufti tenders resignation. State heading towards Governor’s rule again.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *